By Marie Lowery, Attorney

Initial Level

When the Social Security Administration receives an initial application, it is first reviewed to see whether the applicant has worked enough to qualify for Social Security Disability benefits or meets the requirements for Supplemental Security Income. If the necessary criteria are met, the application is sent to the Disability Determination Services (DDS) department for review.

The DDS office reviews the information and medical records provided with the application. If the examiner reviewing your case does not have enough medical documentation to make a determination, you may be referred for a consultative exam.

You will receive a decision in writing within 3 to 6 months after filing your initial application.

Reconsideration Level

If your initial application is denied, a request for reconsideration must be filed within 60 days of the initial denial notice.

At reconsideration, applications are reviewed by a different DDS examiner. During the reconsideration process you will want to provide updated information regarding visits to your doctor or any new treatments that you have undergone.

You will receive a decision in writing within 3 to 5 months after requesting reconsideration.

Hearing Level

If your Social Security Disability claim is denied at the initial and reconsideration levels, you must file a request for a hearing within 60 days of the reconsideration denial.

Currently, the wait time for a hearing at the Charleston office is 11 months from the date your request for hearing was filed. When your hearing is scheduled, you will receive notice of the hearing at least twenty days prior to the scheduled date.

Your chances of success are greatly increased with proper representation by an attorney knowledgeable about Social Security Disability claims at all levels of the application process.

Recent Blog Post
What to Do if Someone is Tailgating You

Tailgating or following too closely behind another car is dangerous behavior, and often a form of road rage. It can easily lead to rear-end collisions and injury accidents. In South Carolina, 3,494 people were injured in 2019 by drivers following…

south carolina statute of limitations personal injury
What Is the Statute of Limitations for a Personal Injury Claim in South Carolina?

South Carolina law gives a person who has been injured by another party’s action or inaction three years in most situations to file a lawsuit seeking compensation for their injuries, financial losses, and pain and suffering. If the claim is…

How to Stay Out of Other Drivers’ Blind Spots on Your Motorcycle

Bikers need to be aware of all potential hazards on the road. That’s because the consequences of a minor collision on a motorcycle can be much more severe than in a car. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration,…

Who is Liable for Boating Accidents in Bad Weather?

Boating is a popular recreational activity in South Carolina, with thousands of people taking to the state’s lakes, rivers and shores every year. However, weather conditions can often shift abruptly, and failing to stay informed and take the necessary precautions…

Awards & Recognition
Best Law Firm 2022
Million Dollar Advocates Forum
B Member
Martindale-Hubbell
Best Lawyers 2021 Small
BBB
ASJ Leaders Forum
National Trial Lawyers Top 100
Google Review
Avvo Rating
Media
CBS News
Fox
NBC
ABC