Workers’ Compensation Benefits Attorney in Charleston, SC
As an injured employee, you are required in South Carolina to notify your employer of your work-related injury within 90 days of the accident. It is important to report your injury to your employer as soon as possible and to seek medical care.
Workers’ compensation generally provides the following types of benefits:
- Medical treatment
- Payments for lost income
- Compensation for permanent disability or disfigurement.
Generally speaking, employers in South Carolina who employ four or more employees full-time or part-time are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance.
Workers’ compensation pays for emergency room care, surgery, hospitalization, doctor’s appointments, rehabilitation, medical devices, and prescription medications. If you are injured at work, you are required to be treated by the doctor selected by your employer to collect the benefits.
If you are unable to work for more than seven days because of a workplace injury, you may be eligible to receive weekly checks covering a portion of your lost wages.
If you are out of work for more than 14 days because of the injury, you are entitled to compensation starting from the date of the injury. Weekly workers’ compensation checks in South Carolina are equivalent to two-thirds of your average weekly wage.
A North Charleston lawyers at Joye Law Firm will review the facts of your on-the-job accident and discuss whether you may have a valid workers’ compensation claim.
The type of workers’ compensation benefits that you are eligible to receive will depend on your employment status, the extent of your injuries, whether you are permanently disabled, and your compensation rate when you were working.
How Our North Charleston Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Can Assist
If your employer or the worker’s compensation insurance administrator denies your right to benefits, or you believe that you are not receiving all the benefits you are due, then you have up to two years to file a workers’ compensation settlement and claim.
You may file a claim with the South Carolina workers’ compensation commission on your own if your employer does not report your injury or denies that your injury occurred on the job. You are not required to have a lawyer represent you when filing a claim. However, the rules and procedures related to pursuing a disputed workers’ compensation claim are complicated.
For a free review of your case, call us at (843) 554-3100