Drivers in South Carolina are allowed to text while operating a motor vehicle. But this might change in the near future due to a new bill in the works. State lawmakers are joining forces to ban people from texting when they’re behind the wheel.
Details of the Proposed Ban
Although laws against texting have been proposed in the past, South Carolina has not put rules in place yet. Some legislators are hoping this will be the year that texting is addressed on a statewide level. Currently, South Carolina leaves it up to its cities to create laws against texting. But if House Bill 3121 passes, any driver who is caught texting in South Carolina will face penalties.
The bill would make distracted driving of any kind a misdemeanor. Negligent drivers can expect a $100 fine and two points on their licenses. If it’s determined after an investigation that texting specifically caused a fatal collision, the fine would increase to $10,000, with the possibility of 10 years in prison.
As it stands, South Carolina is one of six states that does not have any laws against texting while driving. At this time, 39 other states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico have rules that prohibit this dangerous habit. Furthermore, five other states bar texting for beginner drivers.
Need Legal Help?
Car crashes can occur for many reasons. Sometimes momentary distractions lead to devastating accidents. Our South Carolina car accident and injury attorneys at Joye Law Firm understand that no matter what the cause, an automobile collision can have physical, emotional and financial consequences for all involved. We’re always ready to fight for your rights if you or someone you love is the victim of a motor vehicle crash.
Please contact us for a free consultation at 888-324-3100 or fill out our convenient online form today. We have obtained millions of dollars in awards and settlements on behalf of injured persons who have worked with our law firm.