New federal hours-of-service rules aimed at preventing drowsy driving by truckers went into effect July 1.

Under the rules issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, truckers must take at least a 30-minute break after eight consecutive hours of driving. In addition, truckers can drive 11 hours within 14 straight hours on duty. However, after 11 hours, a trucker cannot operate the vehicle for 10 consecutive hours.

Also, truck drivers must also observe a new weekly limit. In the past, truckers were allowed to drive up to 82 hours within a seven-day period of time. The new rules limit drivers to 60 hours over a seven-day period or 70 hours over eight days.

Furthermore, the new rules have what’s called the 34-hour restart. This means that truck drivers can start new weeks on the road only after they have had 34 consecutive hours off. The restart period must also include at least two off-duty periods between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.

Truck companies and drivers that ignore the new rules could be fined thousands of dollars. Exceeding the 11-hour driving limit by three hours or more may result in an $11,000 penalty per offense.

The rules are designed to ensure truckers are more rested and alert. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration hopes the changes will make roadways across the nation safer for all drivers.

Need Legal Help?

Truck accidents can cause devastating injuries or death due to the vehicles’ size and weight. That’s why it is important for truckers to observe the hours-of-service rules and remain aware of the road at all times.

However, careless truck drivers still cause accidents. If you or a loved one has been injured in a South Carolina truck accident because of a trucker’s negligence, contact our South Carolina personal injury attorneys at Joye Law Firm. Call 855-565-3563 or use our online form so our attorneys can offer you advice about your rights.

About the Author

Since 1968, the South Carolina personal injury and workers’ compensation attorneys of Joye Law Firm have been committed to securing compensation for accident and injury victims. Our compassionate and dedicated lawyers have over 300 years of combined litigation experience, and many of them have been recognized as South Carolina Super Lawyers. For many years, our South Carolina personal injury law firm has been listed with an AV rating in the prestigious Martindale-Hubbell legal directory.

Recent Blog Post
What to do in South Carolina? Events for the week of May 21-27 in Charleston, Summerville, Columbia, Myrtle Beach, and upstate.
What to Do in South Carolina: Joye Law Firm Staff Picks 5/21/24 – 5/27/24

    Memorial Day weekend is here, marking the unofficial start of summer. South Carolina offers a variety of fun activities, from concerts and parades to family bashes and more. Check out our staff’s handpicked events to find something for…

two vehicle car crash, both men looking at the damage
What Happens If I Was Hit by an Unlicensed Driver?

Being in a car accident is bad enough—finding out afterward that the driver who slammed into you doesn’t have a driver’s license is a heart-sinking feeling. That’s because anyone driving without a license is also unlikely to have car insurance…

What to do in South Carolina? Events for the week of May 14-20 in Charleston, Summerville, Columbia, Myrtle Beach, and upstate.
What to Do in South Carolina: Joye Law Firm Staff Picks 5/14/24 – 5/20/24

  The Joye Law Firm staff have handpicked an array of activities across South Carolina for the upcoming week, promising fun for the entire family. Dive into delicious culinary delights at a vibrant crab festival, embrace the spirit of history…

Kylee working in intake with a customer
Access State-Provided Vocational Services After Filing for Workers’ Comp

Most of the time, getting hurt at work isn’t a big deal.  It may take a little time to heal, but after some rest and recuperation, you are ready to pick up exactly where you left off.  Unfortunately for some,…

Awards & Recognition
Media
ABC
NBC
Fox
CBS News
ESPN Radio logo