Mopeds typically operate at much slower speeds than motorcycles, cars, or other vehicles on South Carolina roads. But moped collisions can still seriously injure victims. Mopeds are smaller and don’t have the same safety features as automobiles and trucks. That means that when a moped is involved in an accident, the moped driver may suffer serious or catastrophic injuries.
If you or a loved one has been seriously injured in a moped crash, the moped accident attorneys at Joye Law Firm are here to help you get on the road to recovery. With more than 50 years of experience fighting for injured victims in Columbia and across South Carolina, our respected moped accident lawyers have what it takes to tackle even the toughest cases.
Our team at Joye Law Firm is dedicated to doing all that we can to help victims of major accidents pursue justice and fair compensation. We care deeply about making our community the best place it can be for all residents. As demonstrated by our case results, professional honors, and reviews from our past clients, you can trust that our compassionate and skilled team will make every effort to help you.
If you’ve been injured in a moped accident, contact a moped accident lawyers at Joye Law Firm. Founded more than 50 years ago, Joye Law Firm has offices located in North Charleston, Columbia, Myrtle Beach, and Clinton, and our attorneys represent clients throughout South Carolina. To schedule a free case evaluation, call us today at (888) 324-3100 or contact us online.
What Are Moped Licensing Requirements?
Anyone driving a moped in South Carolina must have a valid moped or driver’s license, and they must also register the vehicle in the state. Under state laws updated in November 2018, moped operators do not need insurance or a title for the moped, plus mopeds are exempt from property taxes. South Carolina law requires anyone who is under the age of 21 to wear a helmet while they are either driving or riding on a moped.
Other relevant driving restrictions and the specific requirements for obtaining a license vary according to the driver’s age:
- Drivers between the ages of 15 and 16. Any person in South Carolina must be at least 15 to operate a moped. At this age, people may apply for a Class G or moped license at any DMV branch. Applicants are required to pass knowledge and vision tests, but they don’t have to take a skills test.
To obtain a license, the applicant must bring a social security card, original birth certificate, and two proof of address documents in South Carolina. Additionally, an adult who meets SC’s requirements to Consent for a Minor (SCDMV Form 447-CM) must accompany the applicant and sign their Moped License Application (SCDMV Form 447-NC).
Drivers who are younger than 16 are only allowed to operate the moped alone during daylight hours. At night, they must be accompanied or within safe viewing distance of a licensed driver, who is at least 21 and has one year or more of driving experience.
- Drivers between the ages of 16 and 18. Drivers in this age group must meet the same license requirements as moped applicants who are younger than 16. However, licensed drivers who are 16 or older may operate the moped by themselves at any time of the day or night.
- Drivers that are 18 or older. The primary difference is that drivers who are at least 18 may complete their own moped license application without needing to have a signature from another adult.
Common Injuries In Moped Accidents
Some of the most common types of moped accident injuries include:
- Cuts and abrasions
- Traumatic brain injury
- Organ damage
- Head injuries, skull fractures
- Spinal cord injury and other severe back or neck damage
- Hearing or vision loss
- Shoulder fracture, broken pelvis, arm, and leg injuries, and other broken bones