South Carolina’s Senate is proposing to increase the mandatory minimum auto insurance coverage for uninsured drivers. If the bill passes, drivers will be required to have $25,000 in uninsured motorist coverage, up from the current minimum of $10,000.

Uninsured motorist insurance provides coverage if you have a collision with a driver who is not insured. With a higher minimum, a person who is injured in a wreck caused by an uninsured driver will have more coverage for medical costs, hospital stays and other financial consequences. So this law may benefit consumers in many ways.

Legislators thought they had increased insurance minimums for every type of policy in 2006. But uninsured motorist coverage had somehow slipped through the cracks. Now lawmakers want to make sure the minimums are consistent and believe this increase is a fair resolution.

Most South Carolina drivers already have the $25,000 minimum in their uninsured motorist policies. Therefore, the increase should not be much of a shock. Motorists who have at least $25,000 coverage will have greater protection in case they are in accidents with drivers who don’t carry insurance.

Need Legal Help?

Automobile crashes can occur for many reasons. Sometimes a negligent driver can create dangerous conditions that even the most careful motorist is unable to avoid. Our South Carolina auto accident attorneys at Joye Law Firm are always ready to fight for your rights if you or someone you love is the victim of a motor vehicle crash. Please contact us for a free consultation at 877-941-2615 to discuss the details of your car accident or fill out our convenient online form today.

Recent Blog Post
What to Do if Someone is Tailgating You

Tailgating or following too closely behind another car is dangerous behavior, and often a form of road rage. It can easily lead to rear-end collisions and injury accidents. In South Carolina, 3,494 people were injured in 2019 by drivers following…

south carolina statute of limitations personal injury
What Is the Statute of Limitations for a Personal Injury Claim in South Carolina?

South Carolina law gives a person who has been injured by another party’s action or inaction three years in most situations to file a lawsuit seeking compensation for their injuries, financial losses, and pain and suffering. If the claim is…

How to Stay Out of Other Drivers’ Blind Spots on Your Motorcycle

Bikers need to be aware of all potential hazards on the road. That’s because the consequences of a minor collision on a motorcycle can be much more severe than in a car. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration,…

Who is Liable for Boating Accidents in Bad Weather?

Boating is a popular recreational activity in South Carolina, with thousands of people taking to the state’s lakes, rivers and shores every year. However, weather conditions can often shift abruptly, and failing to stay informed and take the necessary precautions…

Awards & Recognition
Best Law Firm 2022
Million Dollar Advocates Forum
B Member
Martindale-Hubbell
Best Lawyers 2021 Small
BBB
ASJ Leaders Forum
National Trial Lawyers Top 100
Google Review
Avvo Rating
Media
CBS News
Fox
NBC
ABC