Serious injuries or even death can occur any time an automobile driver makes an error in judgment. South Carolina recognizes this fact, and under South Carolina Code 56-5-1210, drivers have certain responsibilities if a collision results in death or personal injury.

All drivers must immediately stop their vehicles after an accident. Sometimes it isn’t feasible to halt the car right at the scene. So South Carolina allows drivers to park as close to the accident as possible without hindering traffic.

Once the driver who caused the accident has come to a stop, leaving the scene is prohibited until all requirements of the code have been met. However, there is one exception to this rule. If it is necessary to exit the area in order to inform authorities of the car crash, the driver is allowed to take this action.

Law enforcement officials who arrive at the accident are authorized to move the vehicles and any debris to make sure the area is safe for traffic. But it should be noted that if an accident has caused severe injuries or death, nothing may be removed from the scene until the investigating officer has approved the removal.

If the driver who instigated a collision ignores this code, different kinds of penalties apply, depending on the nature of the accident.

A driver who is found guilty of a misdemeanor may face:

  • Imprisonment of no less than 30 days and no more than 1 year;
  • Fines of no less than $100.00 and no more than $5,000.00;
  • Or both prison time and fines, if resulting injuries are not considered severe.

A driver who is found guilty of a felony due to causing great bodily injury may face:

  • Imprisonment of no less than 30 days and no more than 10 years; and
  • Fines of no less than $5,000.00 and no more than $10,000.00.

A driver who is found guilty of a felony due to causing any fatalities may face:

  • Imprisonment of no less than 1 year and no more than 25 years; and
  • Fines of no less than $10,000.00 and no more than $25,000.00.

Car accidents can cause devastating injuries and mounting medical bills. But our attorneys at the Joye Law Firm are here to help. Please contact us for a free consultation at 877-941-2615 to discuss the details of your car accident or fill out our convenient online form today.

About the Author

Since 1968, the South Carolina personal injury and workers’ compensation attorneys of Joye Law Firm have been committed to securing compensation for accident and injury victims. Our compassionate and dedicated lawyers have over 300 years of combined litigation experience, and many of them have been recognized as South Carolina Super Lawyers. For many years, our South Carolina personal injury law firm has been listed with an AV rating in the prestigious Martindale-Hubbell legal directory.

Recent Blog Post
What to do in South Carolina? Events for the week of May 21-27 in Charleston, Summerville, Columbia, Myrtle Beach, and upstate.
What to Do in South Carolina: Joye Law Firm Staff Picks 5/21/24 – 5/27/24

    Memorial Day weekend is here, marking the unofficial start of summer. South Carolina offers a variety of fun activities, from concerts and parades to family bashes and more. Check out our staff’s handpicked events to find something for…

two vehicle car crash, both men looking at the damage
What Happens If I Was Hit by an Unlicensed Driver?

Being in a car accident is bad enough—finding out afterward that the driver who slammed into you doesn’t have a driver’s license is a heart-sinking feeling. That’s because anyone driving without a license is also unlikely to have car insurance…

What to do in South Carolina? Events for the week of May 14-20 in Charleston, Summerville, Columbia, Myrtle Beach, and upstate.
What to Do in South Carolina: Joye Law Firm Staff Picks 5/14/24 – 5/20/24

  The Joye Law Firm staff have handpicked an array of activities across South Carolina for the upcoming week, promising fun for the entire family. Dive into delicious culinary delights at a vibrant crab festival, embrace the spirit of history…

Kylee working in intake with a customer
Access State-Provided Vocational Services After Filing for Workers’ Comp

Most of the time, getting hurt at work isn’t a big deal.  It may take a little time to heal, but after some rest and recuperation, you are ready to pick up exactly where you left off.  Unfortunately for some,…

Awards & Recognition
Media
ABC
NBC
Fox
CBS News
ESPN Radio logo