South Carolina has particular rules regarding how to get a license to ride depending on your age, the status of the license you already have and the type of motorcycle you want to operate.
We have provided some information on motorcycle licensing from the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles below.
Even if you are properly trained and licensed and follow the rules of the road, motorcycle wrecks can still happen because of other motorists’ negligence, road defects or defective products. When such unfortunate events take place, you need a strong voice to speak up for your legal rights.
Contact Our Motorcycle Accident Lawyers Today
Our South Carolina personal injury attorneys at Joye Law Firm can help you through the confusion and strain that follow a serious motorcycle accident. Respect and compassion are what you will get from our lawyers and staff from your first call until your case is resolved. It is one of our law firm’s client commitments that we return all phone calls within 24 hours or one business day.
Since 1968 we have helped injured people like you recover not just the money and benefits they deserve, but also their lives. Let us help you, too. Call Joye Law Firm. You can reach us at (888) 324-3100 or fill out an online form for a free case review.
Joye Law Firm has offices in Myrtle Beach, Clinton and Charleston, but our motorcycle accident attorneys are ready to handle your case anywhere in South Carolina. We represent clients all over our state, including Florence, Richland County, Orangeburg, Columbia, Horry County (including Conway and North Myrtle Beach), North Charleston, Mount Pleasant and Summerville.
Our personal injury attorneys at Joye Law Firm are committed to our clients. With nearly 250 years of combined litigation experience, our South Carolina motorcycle accident attorneys at Joye Law Firm have received an AV rating from Martindale-Hubbell, and several have been recognized as Super Lawyers.
Results achieved for previous clients include a $5.9 million settlement for a client who suffered brain injuries in an auto wreck, a $1.15 million settlement for the family of a man killed in a car accident and a $500,000 verdict for a man whose back was injured in a collision.
While every case is different, and past results are in no way intended to guarantee that a similar result can be obtained in another case, past results obtained by a law firm are an indication of the firm’s experience when it comes to serious injury and wrongful death cases. For more details about the results obtained for previous Joye Law Firm clients, please click on the Results tab on our home page.
South Carolina Motorcycling Licensing Laws
Here are some of the key requirements for getting your motorcycle license in South Carolina, according to the SC Department of Motor Vehicles:
- If you are 18 years of age or older, you must bring your birth certificate, Social Security card, proof of residency and insurance information to the DMV, and you must pass the vision and road skills tests.
- If you are 15 years old and have held another class beginner permit for 180 days, you are eligible for a motorcycle beginner’s permit by taking the vision test and motorcycle knowledge test. If you have a conditional driver’s license, you can get a motorcycle conditional license by taking the vision test, the motorcycle knowledge test and the motorcycle skills test.
- If you are 15 years old and have never had a license or beginner’s permit, you must have your motorcycle beginner’s permit for at least 180 days before you can apply for a motorcycle license.
- If you are under 18, you must (1) bring your parent or legal guardian with you to the DMV to sign your application; (2) bring your beginner’s permit; (3) submit Form PDLA that certifies you have (a) completed a driver’s education course, (b) had satisfactory school attendance, and (c) practiced driving with your licensed parent or guardian for 40 hours, including 10 hours of driving practice at night; and (4) you must pass the vision and road skills tests.
- A Class M motorcycle license allows an individual age 15 or older to operate any type of motorcycle, including a two-wheel motorcycle, a motorcycle with a sidecar and a three-wheel motorcycle.
- Individuals who want to operate only a motorcycle with a sidecar permanently attached will need a special S3 restriction with their Class M motorcycle license. Operation of a two-wheel motorcycle without a sidecar attached is prohibited with this restriction.
- Three-wheel motorcycles and automotive three-wheel vehicles may be operated with any class license except a Class G moped license.
Contact Our South Carolina Motorcycle Accident Lawyers Today
If you’ve been seriously injured in a South Carolina motorcycle accident, you can trust our attorneys to work to get you the money and benefits you are entitled to.
Call Joye Law Firm at (888) 324-3100 or fill out our free online case evaluation form.