South Carolina may soon have a law that bans texting while driving. State Representative Don Bowen has proposed legislation that would make it illegal to use any electronic communication device while behind the wheel. The bill includes penalties for texting incidents that cause traffic violations or accidents.

Currently, the bill is in the hands of the Judiciary Committee to reevaluate its penalty system.

Details of the Bill Under Consideration

Bowen’s bill specifies that anyone who is caught texting and driving could face certain fines. Drivers who are pulled over for texting may be given a $100 fine, a $25 charge to go to the Trauma Care fund, and two points on their licenses.

If an injury occurs due to a driver’s decision to text, the fine could be between $2,500 and $5,000, in addition to mandatory jail time that could range from 30 days to five years.

If a fatality directly results from texting, the driver may receive a felony charge. Furthermore, there could be fines from $5,000 to $10,000, and one to 10 years in jail.

Facts to Support this Bill

Although similar legislation has been introduced in South Carolina’s House before, there now is a greater understanding of the dangers of texting while driving so this bill has a better chance of being passed this year.

Most regions in the country already have texting while driving laws in place. South Carolina is one of the few states that does not prohibit drivers from texting. However, police officers are actively enforcing a federal law that bans commercial truck drivers from the use of devices that are not hands-free. Also, some cities in the state have passed their own ordinances that prevent drivers from texting.

Need Legal Help?

An automobile accident can happen at any time, even with the most careful driver. However, persons who text while driving are guilty of recklessness, and someone injured due to this risky behavior may be entitled to punitive damages in addition to their actual damages. The South Carolina car accident attorneys at the Joye Law Firm are ready to fight for you if you or someone you love is the victim of a car crash. Contact us for a free consultation at 877-941-2615 or fill out our convenient online form today. We are committed to obtaining compensation for victims of auto accidents in South Carolina.

Recent Blog Post
Can Passengers of Drunk Drivers Get Compensation in Crashes?

Sustaining injuries in a car accident is a frightening experience regardless of whether you are the driver or the passenger. According to the CDC, someone dies in a drunk driving accident every 50 minutes in the U.S. Impaired driving accounts…

What is “Dooring” When Talking About Bicycle Crashes?

Bicyclists face potentially dangerous situations when sharing the road with motor vehicles. One of these situations is dooring, where a driver or passenger opens a car door into the path of another road user, such as a bicyclist, without checking…

How Long Does It Take to Settle a Motorcycle Lawsuit?

You have the right to file a lawsuit after a motorcycle accident. The length of time to settle a motorcycle lawsuit and receive damages depends on several factors. The evidence, facts of your case, and the cooperation of the at-fault…

How Much Can I Get for Pain and Suffering in South Carolina?

When someone is injured through no fault of their own, they can get compensation in a personal injury lawsuit, and the purpose of that compensation is to get the victim as close as possible back to how they were before…

Awards & Recognition
Best Law Firm 2022
Million Dollar Advocates Forum
B Member
Martindale-Hubbell
Best Lawyers 2021 Small
BBB
ASJ Leaders Forum
National Trial Lawyers Top 100
Google Review
Avvo Rating
Media
CBS News
Fox
NBC
ABC